Unlocking the musical mind

I’m really glad to have broken out of playing just the pentatonic and major scales. I think it’s starting to open my mind to greater musical possibilities.

One thing I noticed before looking at the relationships between notes more closely was that every time I tried to construct a musical sentence in my head, it would always just be steps descending or ascending the major one of the aforementioned scales.

This used to drive me nuts. At one point, I felt I just wasn’t made to create music.

Having looked more closely at the relationships of notes – seconds, thirds and so forth – the melodies in my head now sound as if they are more dynamic and not so confined to certain scales. I’m finding my mind feels more familiar with the fretboard and can speak through the guitar with greater command of the language that is music.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

