No hands

For most, if not all guitar players, the early stages of learning are largely spent keeping our eyes on our hands – nervously ensuring they’re in the right positions.

It’s a habit that sticks, making us forget music is about sound.

Over the holidays, while playing some of my favourites, I realised I had become so familiar with them that I didn’t have to keep check on my hands. Without doing so, I noticed my ears became more focused and attuned to the sounds coming out of my guitar. In short, I was developing a better ear – something I had always overlooked.

Ever since, I’ve always tried to play with an eye directed to the speaker. I feel it is bringing me closer to my guitar and is teaching me how to get the sounds I want out of it without looking.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

