Take a break

I’ve recently begun taking classes in creativity and some of the lessons we’ve covered are quite applicable to music.

I’ve (inadvertently) found this technique working twice this week. The first occurence was learning the 90’s ballad, “More than words”.

When I first begun, I found it frustrating that I was continuously making mistakes. I knew how to play each chord of the verses but making them flow was a different story.

How did I overcome this? I took the dog for a walk.

An hour later, I was back on the guitar and almost effortlessly progressing. In creativity school, we’re told we can grow, advance our ideas by sleeping on them. Its a process that’s about not becoming overly worked up about completeing any particular task and just taking a step back, allowing your brain to rest and coming back refreshed to take in and process information more efficiently.

The second instance was even more surprising. I went back to listening to seconds on Solfege after barely giving it a thought in four whole days. This time though, I was getting everything right. My mind just felt sharper in distinguishing the differences between minor and major seconds after taking a break.

However, this advice shouldn’t be taken as an excuse to slack off in hopes of becoming better. You still need to put in the hard work. Once you’ve done that, then you can take a break.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

