I, V, VI, IV

I’ve been playing guitar this week trying to look as chords as numbers – something I’ve always been told but is only sinking in now.

I stumbled across the fact that two distinctly sounding Mraz tunes actually use the same structure.

“0% Interest” and current radio hit, “I’m Yours” – both of the major scale – use a I major, V major, VI minor, IV major progression.

You have to change the strumming pattern for each song but the similarity is undeniable. One starts on a B and the other in F – but I won’t spoil all the fun – you have to figure out which is which. Or, on the other hand, you can change the keys to put your own personality on the songs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chords, Guitar, Guitar lessons, Music, Music lessons

Leave a Reply

