Who You Gonna Call?

Tonight’s shift had a stressed out front desk girl who was panicking because she could not get into contact with two students who were meant to swap lesson times. Because I hadn’t confirmed it with one student but could not get into contact with them, I had doubled up two students at one time!

Mmm… the pungent smell of sweat, desperation and panic filled the passages of my nostrils as I continuously tried to call them on several numbers. Priceless. Unlike Ghostbuster times, there was no panic button or number that I could call that would magically call up people to come and save the day. Instead, all I could do was try to reach them every 2 minutes, and sit and hope for them to call me back if they saw my missed call. I called them both so many times that my fingers memorised their numbers!

In the end, one of the students called back and the dilemma finally came to an end. Crisis over. Although it wasn’t the end of the world, it certainly did feel like it at the time. And now I sit here wondering why I even panicked so much.

Well one thing’s for sure, I will be extremely careful not to double up any more lessons for the sake of my health and well-being… Oh right, and also to not cause problems for our students!

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily ramblings of front desk

Leave a Reply

