Less is more

When I make compositions it’s quite easy to become over-enthusiastic.

I’ll usually start with something fairly simple – like a bass line repeated over and over. Then chords. Then lead guitar, followed by little embellishments here and there. It all becomes over-saturated very quickly.

When you look at some of the most memorable or recognisable riffs in contemporary music, you often think of examples that are very simple. “Smoke on the water”, “Eye of the tiger” and “Smells like teen spirit” are just a few off the top of my head – all of which I learnt within a month of picking up the guitar.

Its become a bit of a test to refrain from adding too much in. Whenever I put music together, there’s always an urge to add more and more until it becomes something like an overdone steak; a little less cooking and it would’ve been fine.

That’s one thing I’m going to try work on in the following weeks. I feel I’m not the only one with this problem. As such, I’ll let you know when and how I crack it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Guitar, Guitar lessons, Music lessons

Leave a comment